Skip to content

Balance

September 6, 2011

We all know there are things that we must balance in our lives.  The first thing that comes to my mind is the checkbook.  My OCD has me balancing the checkbook every single month when the statement arrives.  I know that some of you are saying, “Geez, lady, get with the times and do it electronically.” 

Well, I’m old-school enough that I do it the old way as well as the new way.  I still write checks and still like having that paper trail to fall back on.  In my generation, in my circle of friends and co-workers, it’s called CYA.  And if you don’t know what that is, you’ve got a problem.

Other things we have to balance in our lives is our schedule, our loves, our emotions, our family commitments, our social lives, even our body when we’ve had too much to drink.  I have fallen several times in my life (never from drink though…honest!), but I like to think that I’ve managed to keep myself generally well-balanced over the years. 

It all started when I was very young, and Dad started teaching me to stay balanced.  This is my first lesson.  He was a good teacher. 

He taught my younger siblings and even his grandchildren, starting here with his first grandson. 

Thanks, Dad!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy Cushman permalink
    September 6, 2011 7:12 pm

    I’ll never think of “well-balanced” without smiling and picturing babies balancing on dad’s and grandpa’s hands! Love the message and the photos.

  2. maureen wall permalink
    September 7, 2011 8:39 am

    I will also think of your dad when I hear the word well-balanced. Again, I enjoyed reading your “blog”.

    • September 7, 2011 8:49 am

      And I would bet that your dad was the same and that they knew each other, too.

  3. September 7, 2011 8:40 am

    It’s funny how sometimes you don’t appreciate these things until you look back. Great photos! Both of my parents were/are great.
    R

    • September 7, 2011 8:54 am

      Great, as in great role models, too…something I hope to be. As I’m getting older, I’m finding more and more to appreciate. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    September 11, 2011 9:43 am

    Interesting! And I LOVE the photos! In addition to being balanced I think my “Uncle Ed” must have been incredibly strong.

    Hmmm. I’m old fashioned enough that I still write checks (though some day I hope I get around to changing that), but I’ve never actually balanced a checkbook, so maybe I have the opposite of OCD…Also, I don’t know what CYA is, so maybe I have a problem that I’m not aware of? I already know that balance, of every sort, is a major problem for me…Remind me what there is besides work and vacation?

    • September 11, 2011 10:36 am

      Thanks, L!  🙂 if you have never balanced a checkbook and had no adverse effect, then you are obviously doing something right.  CYA is ‘cover your a$$’.  You’re so sweet you’ve apparently had no need to worry about that either (I feel like a slug).  Besides work and vacation, there’s your friends, your family, hobbies and interests, taking care of yourself both physically and emotionally, stopping to smell the roses, enjoying the world around you (your pets, the pond out back, watching a beautiful sunset with someone special)…the list goes on.  Just enjoy being in the moment with whatever that moment happens to be and enjoy life.  Talk to you soon.

  5. Sue Brown permalink
    September 28, 2011 4:22 am

    Fantastic photos to illustrate your post!

  6. October 8, 2011 10:48 am

    Always working on balance….I am not sure how old I am going to be when I finally “get” it.
    Love those pictures! We have the same picture/ pose with my daughter and husband.
    Thanksgiving weekend here…off to prepare! Enjoy your weekend! Julie

  7. Anonymous permalink
    October 9, 2011 11:36 am

    Enjoyed your comments and pictures. Right now, my only balance concern is finding a wall or my walker to lean on. Five weeks after back surgery and getting there slowly.

    • October 9, 2011 4:30 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you heal quickly and are up running around soon! 😉

  8. October 26, 2011 3:59 am

    I love the picture of you balancing on your dad’s hand. I think it is now one of my favourite photos ever! I’m so glad you commented on my blog, so it led me to here because I can see your blog being very inspirational indeed. Lots of lovely wishes to you 🙂

    • October 26, 2011 5:33 am

      I’m glad you stopped by, and I appreciate your comments very much!

Let me know what you think...