Skip to content

Good morning…

August 23, 2011

Have you ever noticed that the most peaceful time of the day is pre-dawn when the sun has not quite peeked over the horizon?  The night-time air is just cool enough that a light cover is needed, tucked up around the neck. 

I’m listening to the sounds of the city through the open bedroom window.  The city is not quite awake, and there is no murmur of cars rolling by except for those few unfortunate souls who have the same 6:00 to 3:30 work schedule I used to have.  A couple blocks over, the train rolls through town.  If I’m fortunate, I won’t hear the typical ‘whooooooo-whooooooo’ that must shake all the houses near it, just the slow, rhythmic rumble of the wheels on the tracks…almost puts me back to sleep.

Then there’s the delightful chirping of the birds as they awake.  I don’t know what they are, and I think to myself, “I should find that old LP that will teach me their calls.”  The best part, at least for me, is when the mourning doves start their soft, soothing cooing.  It is so-o peaceful…and takes me back to Grandma’s place when I was a kid.

Oops, the sky is getting lighter now.  And that stupid little, ankle-biter dog on the street behind me is out and about…our version of a bantam rooster.  So I guess I better quit surfing, close down my iPad, hop out from under these cozy covers, and get the day started.

Have a good day!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. maureen wall permalink
    August 25, 2011 9:40 am

    I loved it. You took me on a short journey from today to that of my yesterday mornings.

  2. August 25, 2011 10:49 am

    That is inspiring, awesome. What a pleasure. Thank you for sharing your gift.

  3. August 27, 2011 9:26 am

    Thank you both…I appreciate it.

  4. November 2, 2011 11:03 am

    Me and “the boys” (aka squirrels) enjoy a cup of coffee and the daily devotional in the AM. Good stuff.

    • November 2, 2011 12:12 pm

      Thanks. Oh, and I have a few “boys” I’d like to send your way…more about them later.

  5. January 13, 2012 5:20 pm

    I love that time of morning best … even better if I’m all alone in it 🙂
    MJ

Let me know what you think...

