Skip to content

Perfection Part II

October 5, 2011

Guess what?  I actually finished something!  I really, honest-to-God finished something.

I live in a 110+-year-old house, a remnant from the Victorian era, with a neat layout, high ceilings, no closets to speak of, and a massive front porch…a porch to die for. 

But wait…that makes me realize that I’ve actually just finished TWO projects!  Me, who can’t seem to do anything to completion.  That beautiful, massive porch has over 50 feet of railing and 92 turned spindles (I repeat, 92 spindles) which I finally finished re-painting two weeks ago.  It was like giving a facelift to an old lady.

But the completed project that I am really pumped about was on the inside of this old lady.  It was installing some baseboard.   Should be simple, right?  I’ve done it before. 

Well, not so.  It was the baseboard going up the steps to the second floor…a staircase that turned at the midway point, has no landing, and involved cutting four pieces of baseboard with a different angle at each end…eight different angles that all should meet together neatly.  

So, out comes the trusty miter saw, the wood, tape measure, pencil, etc., which I set up on the newly painted front porch.  You know the old saying about measure twice, cut once?  Well, I probably measured about 10 or 15 times for each cut. 

And, after what seemed like hours over the course of two days, the pieces were cut.  I taped them in place to get the effect of whether they might actually fit somewhat properly. 

Next step was to bring out the big guns:  my little 2-gallon air compressor and a nail gun.  Oops, another delay while I re-read the directions since I hadn’t used it in about a year.  But then I fired it up and Pow! Pow! Pow!…they’re installed.

A few more finishing touches, and, whoa-lah, it was done!

And the best part?  It looks fine!  Well, truth be told, it looks okay.  Nothing in the house is plum or level or square, so it fits right in.

I don’t care that it is not absolutely perfect…because my Pièce de résistance was plenty of spackling, some light sanding, and just the right touch…kinda like a sculpture.  🙂

After all, I am an artist wannabe.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 9:26 pm

    How exciting! I’d love to live in an old house like that. 🙂 And you’re right, if the baseboard looked perfect, it would be out of place. I’m sure it looks wonderful! Congratulations!

    • October 6, 2011 8:09 am

      Thank you…and thanks for stopping by.

  2. October 5, 2011 10:20 pm

    Wow! Congratulations! I am so envious of your front porch . . . I’ve wanted one for years. Bravo to you for rolling up your sleeves and putting in those baseboards. I know how hard it is to put those in and get them right, (mitering the edges is tricky!). 🙂

    • October 6, 2011 8:08 am

      Thanks, CB. The porch is so perfect this week because it’s sunny and in the 70s here in Michigan.

  3. October 5, 2011 11:53 pm

    Congratulations! You took on a big project, actually two, and you deserve to feel proud and a sense of accomplishment. Now I need a helpful hint on what mitre saw to purchase. I have a dining room that needs the baseboards cut and installed.
    Back to your projects, I like your sketch drawing.

    • October 6, 2011 8:05 am

      Thank you. But, please forgive me…that is not a sketch. I’m still trying to break through my inhibitions about my art work being perfect. You know…baby steps. I’ll let you know when it happens, okay?
      I would suggest that if you’re buying a mitre saw, go for a compound mitre saw. 🙂

  4. October 7, 2011 9:18 am

    Wow… I painted about thirty spindles for an inside staircase and I thought I should get the nobel prize. 92! Great post. Thanks for visiting my blog – especially since it led me to you!

    • October 7, 2011 9:26 am

      Thanks. You are so funny…just saying what so many of us have going on in our heads. Looking forward to more of your posts.

  5. October 8, 2011 9:14 am

    You took me back to my childhood in another Victorian house with a great front porch and the constant smell of sawdust as my father fiddled. Thanks! this is my first visit to your blog. I’ll be back!

    • October 8, 2011 10:32 am

      Thank you so much! Glad you stopped by.

  6. October 13, 2011 1:36 pm

    No house that old is plumb and/or square. Don’t sweat it. Do you have any idea how much money you just saved yourself?

    • October 13, 2011 3:17 pm

      Wow, I’ve been at this so long that I never thought of it that way. Thanks, you just made my day!

Let me know what you think...

