Skip to content

Intro to Soccer

October 15, 2011

I never had the opportunity to be a soccer mom. All that was coming into the radar as my boys were approaching the age where they had already focused on what would become their life interests…cars and/or hunting.

I remember back in 1994 when grandson No1 started playing soccer in the Big Rapids area. He was such a little guy…but actually everyone on his team was little…like munchkins. Watching them run around the field, trying to figure out what they were supposed to do with the ball, reminded me of a cartoon where you see a mass of bumble bees buzzing around and pestering their victim…buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz over this way…buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz over that way.

Oops, SOMEONE ACTUALLY KICKED TOWARDS THE GOAL. Woo-hoo!! Oh-oh, too bad it wasn’t the right goal.

Fast forward to the first Saturday of this October. I was taking granddaughter No5 to a 12 noon soccer game. It was cold that day…so cold that they had cancelled No7’s game at 9:00 a.m. because of the frost still on the ground.

Looking at her thin nylon jersey, I asked, “Are you going to be warm enough?”

“Oh, yeah, I’ll be running around.”

So there I was, watching the game wrapped in a blanket and with my camera ready. She was easy to follow since she had on a pink knit cap. And I was bound and determined to capture some live action for posterity so that she can showcase her skills when it comes time for college applications. It is competitive out there, isn’t it?

Back and forth they went, but this time many of them looked like they came from the same bee hive that her brother had been a part of 17 years ago. No5, unfortunately, was one of those bees. I’d heard that her coach didn’t work with the younger players, just focused her attention on the older more experiences players, so No5 and some of her team mates just did a lot of running, following the rest of the hive and looking a little lost at times.

It was quite a good game, and she actually did get a little ball action. I managed to capture a few photographs showing her standing and tugging at her cap. But I took my eyes off her for a split second and, unfortunately, missed the one classic moment of the game. It was so No5!

What was that classic moment? Well, they say a picture is worth a thousand words. I had no photograph, so this quick sketch will have to do…

BTW, the other team won…and the butterfly got away!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 7:21 pm

    I like your sketch and the story was sweet. Who else sits out in the cold and watches soccer except the people who watch their loved ones. 🙂
    R

    • October 18, 2011 1:41 am

      Thank you! Yes, we’ll forget how cold we were but will forever remember seeing them on the field…whether it’s scoring a goal or chasing a butterfly. 🙂

  2. October 17, 2011 7:25 pm

    Your story brought back memories when my children were young. Soccer got a try, then it was on to Little League (my husband was a baseball fan). But I do remember the bee hive…so funny…so cute. Thanks for sharing your art too!

    • October 18, 2011 1:59 am

      Memories of my children when they were young always make me smile, and I have 1000s of snapshots to help keep the memories alive.
      The drawing is very rusty…first attempt in far too long, but I’m actually working on more and feeling very inspired by you and so many others. Thank you!

Let me know what you think...

