Skip to content

Trick or Treat

October 20, 2011

When I was a kid, Halloween nights were very memorable.  There were so many kids in our neighborhood that I can remember what seemed like a mass of humanity flowing from house to house for blocks.  We had pillow cases full of candy by the end of the evening.  One year my sister Teacher and I were dressed as Raggedy Ann and Raggedy Andy.  When we didn’t stay close to each other, people tended to think someone was coming back for seconds and wouldn’t give the straggler any candy. 

That taught me a good lesson:  stay close to my sister.  I have ever since, and she is my best friend.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 12:53 pm

    love the illustration. I’m lucky to have sisters as best friends, too.

    • October 21, 2011 2:36 pm

      I’m glad you like the illustration. I have unearthed all my art work and supplies (very out-dated) and am now on a mission! 🙂

  2. Anonymous permalink
    October 21, 2011 5:45 pm

    The illustration is wonderful. If that is what you can do you shouldn’t have earthed them in the first place! Keep to the mission.

  3. October 21, 2011 5:47 pm

    The illustration is great. If that is what you can do you shouldn’t have earthed your supplies in the first place. Keep on the mission.

    • October 21, 2011 9:24 pm

      Thank you! I’m glad I got them out.:)

  4. Erik R Davis permalink
    October 23, 2011 8:54 am

    Great illustration….fun story too. Takes me back to the days when I was a tot. I think I have just as much fun now passing out the goodies as I did collecting them.

    • October 23, 2011 9:30 am

      Yes, I sometimes think that adults are having more fun with Halloween when I look at how they decorate their yards and houses. The drive-by routine is as active as at Christmas.
      Thanks for the visit…I really enjoy your art work.

  5. October 23, 2011 10:36 am

    How I loved Halloween … still do. We live way out on a private road and don’t get trick-or-treaters…. I miss it. Will write about it this week too!
    Great Post!

    • October 23, 2011 2:44 pm

      Thanks. Looking forward to your take on Halloween. 🙂

  6. Anonymous permalink
    October 29, 2011 10:31 am

    I’m glad you’re unleashing your inner artist…I love your style.

    • October 29, 2011 12:34 pm

      Thank you very much…I’m not quite sure I’ve found my style yet, but it’s fun looking for it.

  7. Littleskew permalink
    November 10, 2011 12:01 pm

    Very cute 🙂

Let me know what you think...

