Skip to content

Pen & Ink #1: The eyes…

October 23, 2011

While I was recently unearthing all my old art work and supplies, I came across a brief pencil sketch I started of SonNo2 when he was three years old.  I’ve been wanting to learn how to properly work in pen and ink, so this is my attempt to re-do that same sketch.

They say that the eyes are the windows to the soul.  He has a beautiful soul.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy Cushman permalink
    October 23, 2011 5:47 pm

    Incredibly beautiful and expressive.

    • October 23, 2011 6:21 pm

      Thank you, Betsy! I’m getting back into the groove…Woo Hoo!

  2. October 23, 2011 9:43 pm

    What a beautiful sketch!! Those eyes!! I am happy you are rediscovering your art.

    • October 24, 2011 4:31 am

      Thank you! I am happy, too, and I can’t believe how much it has lifted my spirits.

  3. October 23, 2011 9:50 pm

    Wow! I am in awe of this. You are truly very talented. 🙂

    • October 24, 2011 4:43 am

      Thank you so much. A dear old friend has been encouraging me to get back to my art, and I’m glad I listened to him.
      And I greatly appreciate the positive feedback I am now receiving. 🙂

  4. October 25, 2011 10:57 am

    Wow! That’s wonderful 🙂 It’s so expressive, and I love that you decided to do just the eyes–puts the focus right where you want it. I really like that technique…thank you for sharing–this makes me want to try out stippling!

    • October 25, 2011 12:27 pm

      Thank you! I’ve always liked the look of pen and ink drawings and have been studying a book by Claudia Nice to try and learn some techniques.
      I haven’t yet shown this to my son. When I look at it now, I actually see my grandson’s eyes. 🙂

  5. October 26, 2011 3:56 am

    This is such a beautiful drawing. You clearly love the subject to give it so much justice!

  6. October 26, 2011 5:54 pm

    Awesome pic. Good luck with the pen, I learned a little art a couple years ago and stayed far far far away from pen.

    • October 26, 2011 6:26 pm

      I think I’m enough of a nit-picker that I’m comfortable with it. I wish I could loosen up and do some of the free-form, more abstract work that is so appealing. Thank you for stopping by.

  7. Laura permalink
    October 28, 2011 9:22 pm

    Its beautiful.

  8. October 29, 2011 11:09 am

    I use the dotting technique with pen and ink as well. Much easier for shading than cross-hatch in some situations.

    • October 29, 2011 12:41 pm

      I always feel like my cross-hatching looks like I’m trying to cover up a mistake, but I will eventually figure it out. And the dots are much more subtle, too.

  9. November 1, 2011 1:04 pm

    This is so neat! I love the stippling technique. Sometimes I work in pen & ink but have never tried stippling. Very skillful use of it in the shadows underneath the hair, & in the eyes.
    Keep doing it!!!

    Thanks so much for liking my posts, & for subscribing to my blog.

    • November 1, 2011 4:44 pm

      Thank you for your nice comments. This was the first time I’ve ever tried this and was pleasantly surprised at how it turned out. I’m already working on another.
      I’m glad I found your blog and your website!

  10. November 9, 2011 10:09 pm

    Gorgeous, and so expressive! You’re so amazing!

    And thanks for liking my post!

    🙂

    uponatlas.

    • November 9, 2011 10:14 pm

      I find that drawing (art in general) is a joyful experience. It always lifts my spirits after a fun session, and it seems like it does for you as well. 🙂

      • November 9, 2011 10:32 pm

        Yes, it does. I’ve been away from it far too long and am glad to be back to it.

    • November 9, 2011 10:29 pm

      Thank you, too. Now I’m waiting to read more about the wicked stepmother and the 6’3″ guy.
      🙂

      • November 10, 2011 2:43 am

        HAHA I’ll see what I can do; although I think Kara (evil stepmother) is never coming back 😦 Sorry!

  11. Littleskew permalink
    November 10, 2011 12:00 pm

    This is a stunning picture; the eyes are so beautiful

    • November 10, 2011 12:52 pm

      Thank you! Just checked out your work…ver-r-ry nice!

  12. November 20, 2011 8:25 am

    Beautiful sketch 🙂
    He looks a little sad…

    • November 20, 2011 9:11 am

      Thank you. He might have been sad, more likely he was tired…or my interpretation of what I was seeing is all cock-eyed???
      🙂

Let me know what you think...

