Skip to content

Closed Head Injuries…

November 8, 2011

I like to think of myself as fairly intelligent.  I had a job for 20+ years that required a good knowledge of anatomy, physiology, and medical terminology and the ability to handle statistics and such.  But that wasn’t always the case.

As a child, apparently, I wasn’t always the sharpest tool in the shed.  Case in point: 

I was quite a tomboy as a girl.  Oh, I had my dolls and girlie stuff to play with, but it wasn’t uncommon to see me playing on the roof of the school across the street from our house…though, of course, I always played on the back side of the school so my parents couldn’t see me running around up there.  Or I could be found playing with Matchbox cars outside in the dirt with the boy next door.

When I was about nine or ten years old, for some unexplained reason, there was a mattress lying on the floor at the bottom of the basement stairs.  It was so inviting that I decided to jump on to it…from the landing…about 12 steps!! 

Big Mistake!!  I had not yet developed any engineering knowledge and did not take into consideration the huge steel beam that ran the length of the house directly above the bottom step. 

Well, I jumped…and don’t remember anything else until I woke up sometime later…flat on my back…and with a sore head. 

I never told anyone in the family about it for almost 40 years.  Then I casually mentioned it to Dad…who was also the ‘adventurous type’ as a child (at the age of five he burned down a chicken coop while trying to bake a potato).  He laughed long and hard when he heard my tale.

Shortly afterwards, Dad told me that he had mentioned the incident to my brother Woodsman, who also got a good laugh out of it.  Woodsman, however, had laughed because he had apparently done the exact same thing…with the exact same results.

Believe it or not, we really do know how to use our heads!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 6:01 pm

    Glad you survived! Adventurous, active, intelligent kids want to explore their world…I think its better to take a chance instead of leading the protected life.

    • November 8, 2011 8:33 pm

      Hmmm, now that I think of it I remember jumping off the roof of the school. THAT must be where I came up with the idea in the first place…just didn’t look up this time.

  2. November 8, 2011 6:15 pm

    Oh my head hurts just reading that!

    We had some “very good ideas” as kids, too. Toboggan down the stairs…you name it. Lots of injuries and eventually we learned.

    Cheers! MJ

    • November 8, 2011 8:36 pm

      Yeah, mine hurt for quite awhile. Wow, tobogganing down stairs sounds like fun! 🙂

  3. November 8, 2011 7:38 pm

    I have had a few incidences like this. I didn’t want to tell my mom about anything that happened to me. Everytime I was cut I had to get a tetanus shot (lived on a farm), and I was terrified of needles. I am surprised I survived some of the silly escapades. Love your blog. Glad you liked my straw necklace.

    • November 8, 2011 8:44 pm

      Oh, the things we never told Mom. Geez, she already yelled at us enough without adding fuel to the fire.
      I’m going to show the grandkids the straw necklaces. Glad you stopped by.

  4. November 9, 2011 8:30 pm

    Experience is the greatest teacher. Bet you never did that again. I am happy (or sad) to say that I had many similar experiences. Wish I could say that I think before I jump now… hmmmm.

    • November 9, 2011 8:42 pm

      I only remember jumping off the school roof…and I do try to think before I do much of anything quite so spontaneous. But it does kind of take the adventure out of life, doesn’t it?

  5. Sue Brown permalink
    November 10, 2011 12:52 pm

    Ow ow ow ow. But good to know your brother tried the same idea …

    • November 10, 2011 1:03 pm

      Yeah, good to know he’s a knucklehead just like me.
      🙂

  6. December 26, 2011 10:03 am

    It’s amazing how thin the line is between comedy and tragedy. You had a job that required knowledge of anatomy, so you know what could have happened at the bottom of those stairs. When I was about the same age — nine or ten — I jumped from a second-floor window onto our concrete driveway, and couldn’t walk for a week. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

    Great post, JSD. Happy New Year!

    • December 26, 2011 10:48 am

      Yes, it is a bit comical, isn’t it? I always think about the possible injuries when I see kids doing those stupid things on YouTube, and I once very graphically explained a pneumothorax to 11-year-old grandson No1. He quit the stupid stuff for a while. And I actually thought about a jump from the second floor window but passed that time. I should have had a talk with you back then.
      Thanks for the wishes…Happy New Year to you, too. 🙂

Let me know what you think...

