Skip to content

Paying it forward – Parts 2 and 3

November 25, 2011

Well, we got through our Thanksgiving Day feast, didn’t we?  I hope yours was as enjoyable as mine. 

Now it’s time for me to thank some fellow bloggers.  I have been honored by three (yes, three) bloggers within the past week.   (UponAtlas’ Blog and Worrywart’s Guide to Weight, Sex, and Marriage) have both felt I was worthy of The Versatile Blogger Award for…I don’t know?…

…AND (drum roll, please) Prairie Wisdom honored me with The Liebster Blog Award.  According to Prairie Wisdom, the Liebster Blog Award is given to ‘up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers.’   It is explained further in her post of November 23.

Thanks to all three of you!  Please check out their websites…all three are a joy to read!

This is the second/third time for me for The Versatile Blogger award, and believe me, my self-esteem is much appreciative.  As a recipient of the The Versatile Blogger award, I am to reveal seven (more) things about myself.

Hhhmmm, let me think.  What can I tell about myself that I haven’t already and that will at least make me look like I’ve got both oars in the water?  Here goes…

1.) I’m an introvert; 2.) I have a drop-dead recipe for Minestrone Soup…well, it’s actually my mother’s, so I should give her credit (thanks, Mom); 3.) red is my favorite color; 4.) I can shoot a shotgun pretty accurately; 5.) I’ve been to the birthplace in Scotland of one branch of our family tree; 6.) I like Samuel Adams beer; and 7.) the first car I drove was an old used 1951 Chevy, a disgusting brown car that my brothers and cousins called “The Turd.”

As a recipient of the The Versatile Blogger award, it apparently also now my duty to nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.  My first nomination (thank you, Linda, at wingsofwonder) told me it was five nominees.   So, because it’s so difficult to choose another 15 bloggers and because my brain is now in over-load mode, I will just have to pick some (I don’t know if they’ve yet received this honor).  Please see by Blogs I Follow… page for everyone.  They are…

I really like the art work of Monica MintoThe Other Side of 55 speaks to the heart of all of us on, of course, the other side of 55. Kirsten Lopresti writes young adults books and has ideas anyone could use.  And some, but not all, of my favorite artists’ blogs are Erla Maria, D. B. ClemonsErik R. Davis (a man of few words), and K. A. Renninger.  Wonderful inspirations! 

Regarding The Liebster Blog nomination, since it is sometimes difficult to know how many followers a blog has, I will nominate those five I think have less than 200 (though some may have more) and that I enjoy.  They are…

For a down-to-earth reincarnation of Johnny Carson, you must check out Rich Ripley…he’s a joy to read.  Sharing Our Past has stories and letters about growing up in Dearborn.  There’s the future great writer:  UponAtlas’ Blog.  And again I have to go with D. B. Clemons and Erik R. Davis

Other than that, because there are so many and we are so supportive of each other, I can only cop-out (just like BrainRants did) and guide you to my Blogs I Follow… page.  You’ll find a wide assortment dealing with life, writing, art, humor, creativity, wisdom, and much, much more.  It is quite an eclectic collection…in keeping with my ADD brain.  Check them out, please.

Thanks again to UponAtlas’ Blog, to Worrywart’s Guide to Weight, Sex, and Marriage and to Prairie Wisdom.  You have all made me feel very special!

And now that I am suffering from tryptophan/carbohydrate/wine-induced bloat and I can’t bear the thought of dealing with the crowds on Black Friday, I am going to get out my WII board and run, dance, have a boxing match, and finish off with some yoga. 

Have a wonderful weekend!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. sweetopiagirl permalink
    November 25, 2011 2:33 pm

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss and commented:
    This is something that we all should do if we are financially stabled.

  2. November 25, 2011 2:42 pm

    Thanks so much for the blog award! What a great surprise!

  3. November 25, 2011 6:40 pm

    Thank you kindly for including me among your favorite artists! This is a really nice post & I’m sure greatly appreciated by all . Will check out some of your recommendations.

    • November 26, 2011 5:39 am

      Thanks for the kind words. I really enjoy seeing your work…I feel there’s so much I can learn by observing others’ art.
      🙂

  4. November 25, 2011 7:01 pm

    :O Dare I hope that I got nominated for the Liebster?!

  5. November 26, 2011 7:14 am

    Congrats on winning the Versatile Blogger award! Now you’ve got me wanting to check out more blogs. And wanting minestrone soup . . .

    • November 26, 2011 8:07 am

      Thank you very much…and I hope you enjoy the other blogs!

  6. Erik R Davis permalink
    November 27, 2011 1:14 pm

    Thanks so much for award! I really appreciate it. I’ve always enjoyed reading your post too!

    • November 27, 2011 4:29 pm

      …and thank you, I enjoy your art work. I will never see a treehouse again without thinking of how you would put it to pen and ink.
      🙂

  7. November 27, 2011 6:30 pm

    I’ll be busy awhile checking out all the blogs you have referred. Congratulations!

    • November 27, 2011 8:01 pm

      Thank you! I hope you find some you enjoy.
      🙂

  8. November 28, 2011 5:26 am

    http://uponatlas.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/im-rocking-the-liebster-award/#more-920

    I couldn’t help it, I just had to nominate you back, because you’re so fantastic like that.

    🙂

    • November 29, 2011 1:06 pm

      Oops, don’t know what to do except say Thank You!
      🙂

Let me know what you think...

