Skip to content

Mixed Media vs. Comfort Zone

December 1, 2011

Well, the wanna-be artist in me is trying to emerge.  I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone and posted a few of my artistic endeavors.  I’m also following many art, inspirational and creative blogs (see my Blogs I Follow page).  I’m amazed at all the talent on these blogs, as well as the encouragement and inspiration that has come my way.

Recently, I took another step out of my comfort zone and tried a mixed media piece, one where I would ‘let go’ of my need to have everything just ‘right’, the need to be perfect.  I tried to follow the process that C.B. Wentworth shared in three postings showing her steps in doing a mixed media piece.

Beginning with a recent pen and ink drawing (the one that is now my gravatar), I decided to dive into the tear, paste, touch-up with paint and ephemera routine.  As I gathered everything about me, I was tearing up my art work way more than I originally wanted to and….yikes, started freaking out about it.  So I stepped back and gingerly took less-daring baby steps in putting it together. 

This is the result…it just looks like a scrapbook page to me…?  

Oh, well, for now I think that I’ll go back to my initial, though somewhat controlled, method of expressing myself.  Or maybe I should sign up for an art workshop such as the one that Spaark recently posted about.  She said the instructor would have me ‘flinging paint at the canvas with not a care in the world!’

Now that actually sounds like fun!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 9:26 am

    It looks fantastic! In particular I like how you tinted the torn edges. 🙂

    Sometimes you have to throw paint at the wall and sometimes you have to let paper do what it “wants” to do. Keep creating!

    • December 1, 2011 9:38 am

      Thank you so much. Actually, the only time I’m good at throwing paint at the wall is when I’m trying to paint a room. For someone who is so uptight about my artwork, I am the sloppiest painter in the world. But I will keep creating.
      🙂

  2. Betsy Cushman permalink
    December 1, 2011 9:26 am

    OMG -that’s amazing! It gives context and new meaning to your grandma, and makes me want to stare and stare. Don’t stop your new artistic freedom in expression — just assume it’s part of the growing pains that result in new understandings! I’m in awe.

    • December 1, 2011 9:35 am

      Thanks, Betsy, and I appreciate your constant encouragement. 🙂

  3. December 1, 2011 11:08 am

    This is lovely JSD. But I can totally see how you don’t like to mess things up too much! I am much the same. When I did my foundation course at art school, my worst subject was fine art. My favourite technique was photo-realistic drawings in fine watersoluble pencil. Nice and neat and clean! My fine art teacher was forever setting projects that made me squirm. One particular day we had to go out to the woods to collect moss, leaves, mud, bark… anything with texture and muck and then come back to slap it on some board. Never one for getting my hands dirty, I did a collage with some pretty leaves… and got a really low mark! I think a course would be a great way to get insight into other techniques and help you on your way to find what you are most comfortable with. Having said that, I don’t think you need much teaching! 🙂

    • December 1, 2011 11:22 am

      Thanks, ooobop! I’ve tried working with the watersoluble pencils and think, with some experience, I might like them. I don’t understand the moss-leaves-mud-bark thing enough to figure out why you would get a low mark for something that you create, especially in a medium you’re not comfortable with…geez, it’s your art, not the teacher’s. It’s like a teacher asking you what you think a poem means, then giving you a bad grade because it isn’t what they think it means.

  4. December 1, 2011 1:07 pm

    I like it.

    • December 1, 2011 4:22 pm

      Thank you! It’s even growing on me.:)

  5. December 1, 2011 5:12 pm

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I recently took a mixed media class. There were three artists and me (the non artist). As you have shown with your piece, there are people that have artistic talent (you) and those of us who write about art (me)! Your piece is beautiful.

    • December 1, 2011 6:08 pm

      Thank you…that’s very kind of you. I think I should get off my bum and retake some art classes…it would be fun.

  6. December 1, 2011 6:17 pm

    I love it! Very cool!

  7. December 1, 2011 7:23 pm

    Excellent work. Keep it up.

    • December 1, 2011 8:43 pm

      Thank you, thank you…I most definitely will! 🙂

  8. December 1, 2011 9:18 pm

    I like your leap into the unknown! Instead of going back, why not try another, and another.

    • December 1, 2011 9:59 pm

      Well…tonight as I was working on a drawing, my mind was wandering in that direction. I know that I will…just have to finish what I’ve started already. Thanks for the feedback.
      🙂

  9. Erik R Davis permalink
    December 2, 2011 7:17 pm

    Nice job…I gotta admit, I’ve yet to venture too far from my comfort zone. I truly appreciate well done mixed media, and this is very well done. Really nice

  10. December 3, 2011 3:18 pm

    I think it’s pretty neat, actually; & something nice that future generations will enjoy, since it is sort of a “description” of you.
    I’ve only tried collage with magazine pictures, none of my own drawings—so I can imagine it would freak a person out a little to be tearing & pasting original artwork. However, I do think you took a step in the direction of freeing yourself. I suffer from perfectionism & being too detail-oriented, as well. Sometimes, to loosen myself up, I play around with crayons or craft paint or some other inexpensive media— & remind myself that no one has to see the result; it’s just for fun. Occasionally I actually come up with an interesting technique this way, too.

    Keep going!

    • December 3, 2011 5:29 pm

      Thanks! Loosening up would be a good idea, and I will keep going.
      🙂

  11. December 3, 2011 8:53 pm

    Lovely. Just lovely! I would recognize you anywhere!

    • December 4, 2011 4:21 am

      Thank you for the compliment! Hmmm, I don’t think you’d recognize me based on the picture, if that’s what you mean. That’s a picture of my grandmother. And I would give my right arm, er, make it my left arm, to have that much hair.
      😉

Let me know what you think...

