Skip to content

Red Eye

December 7, 2011

Yesterday we had our first snowfall of the season in our little section of the county.  It was barely enough to cover the grass and, fortunately, melted as soon as it hit the pavement.  But the trees were beautiful, covered with a light coat of ice-capped snow.  If the sun had been out, they would have sparkled.

I like taking photographs, sometimes with the thought of using them for references for a painting or drawing.  So I grabbed my point-n-shoot camera and took a couple from my front porch…just basic shots of the evergreen in front and some close-ups of the red dogwood.  But the pictures of the dogwood kept staring back at me…as if with a tiny version of that awful red-eye we sometimes capture. 

So I zoomed in and…lo and behold, is that a sign of spring just waiting for the right time to bloom?

 

If so, it can’t come soon enough.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 12:48 pm

    Loved seeing the snow…visually. Great photos, hopeful message. Thanks for sharing.

    • December 7, 2011 5:39 pm

      The snow is so pretty when it first arrives, and it does provide a nice photo op. It’s now gone, and that’s fine with me. We’ll be bombed with it soon enough. And there’s light at the end of the tunnel…spring always comes. 🙂

  2. December 7, 2011 7:55 pm

    It is so beautiful to see the first snow fall clinging to the trees. Lovely!

    • December 7, 2011 8:47 pm

      It is pretty, isn’t it? It’ll wear thin real quick, though. 🙂

  3. December 7, 2011 8:04 pm

    Seriously? Talking about Spring already? It’s going to be a long Winter for you.

    • December 7, 2011 8:51 pm

      Ha-ha, yeah, I know, but it gives me something to look forward to, right? And it’s not like I still have to get up and drive to work at 5:30 a.m. everyday. Big :)!

  4. Betsy Cushman permalink
    December 7, 2011 8:48 pm

    Spectacular! It was one of the prettiest sights I’ve seen around here and as I drove out, I wished I’d had my camera. So glad you had yours!

  5. December 13, 2011 10:24 am

    Gorgeous shot!

    • December 13, 2011 12:09 pm

      Thanks! Sometimes I have managed to capture some amazing photos with this $150 camera.
      🙂

Let me know what you think...

