Skip to content

Wishes for an ice storm

December 15, 2011

Two years ago, it was No5’s first solo overnight visit to my house when she was just a month and a half shy of her 7th birthday.  This portion of the off-spring live a distance away, and they don’t get to the city very often.  So she’d only visited when the whole family came in.

I was a little apprehensive because she has always been such a very active child, and that’s putting it mildly!!!!  She would be a little shy when I first arrived for a visit with them but eventually would be literally bouncing off the walls trying to get some attention.  When I brought up the visit to her, she was very excited and immediately ran to the calendar to show me when she’d be off school. 

So we made our plans for the week between Christmas and New Years.  I picked her up early on a Monday and after the quiet two-hour drive back home, we finally arrived.

To my surprise she immediately made herself at home.  She took her bag up to the spare bedroom and unpacked it.  Her clothes were set at the end of the bed, folded neatly, and her shoes very precisely on the floor.  Her coat was hung on the coat rack.  Keep in mind that this child’s bedroom at home has a floor covered by a deep layer of clothes just strewn about.

We had a wonderful visit, and she actually was quite a little chatter-box.  Over the rest of that day and the next, we read books, she played with the doll house and toys, colored and organized the crayon box, and watched a DVD.  We also spent time at The Henry Ford, which she enjoyed.

Our plan was to drive home on Wednesday with some shopping on the way.  It was a great two days with her…she was an absolute angel, and we both had fun. 

The most heart-tugging moment came, however, when I tucked her in bed on Tuesday evening.  She quietly said to me, “Maybe if there’s an ice storm tonight, I could stay a couple more days?”

Wow, this was another one of those “it doesn’t get much better than that” moments that made this grandma very happy!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 1:24 am

    So sweet!

    • December 15, 2011 4:49 am

      That was my reaction when she said it, so an extra big hug was in order.

  2. December 15, 2011 6:04 am

    Yeah. Hooray. There’s a big smile on my face from your post. Thanks

    • December 15, 2011 7:18 am

      I’m glad…and me, too, every time I think of it. Have you read my post “No3 and Me” yet? Same reaction. 🙂

  3. Betsy Cushman permalink
    December 15, 2011 7:19 am

    It really doesn’t get any better than that! I’m smiling and smiling.

    • December 15, 2011 7:22 am

      No, it doesn’t. We’re so lucky to have them, aren’t we?

  4. December 15, 2011 8:43 am

    Awww, this just brought tears to my eyes.

    • December 15, 2011 9:43 am

      Yes, it’s one of those feel-good grandparenting moments…can never have too many of them.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    December 15, 2011 8:41 pm

    Compliments come in the most unlikely forms don’t they? 🙂
    R

    • December 15, 2011 9:01 pm

      Yes, they certainly do. Have a Merry Christmas!

  6. December 16, 2011 3:32 pm

    What a heart-warming post! Thank you for sharing. I don’t have grandchildren YET, but you’ve got me thinking of the special moments I had with my children….

    • December 16, 2011 6:45 pm

      I’m glad you like it. When the grandkids do start arriving, it will be wonderful for you. 🙂

  7. December 19, 2011 8:26 pm

    It is great when the grandchildren feel comfortable enough to stay longer!
    Two of mine stayed at our cabin for a month last summer. At the end, one of them asked if they could stay for 5 weeks next year. Though I love the kids, 4 weeks is about enough at a stretch!

    • December 20, 2011 3:13 am

      I couldn’t stop chuckling when I read this because I have been there…I’ve had some living with me for up to 14 months. They are such a joy but, even with their parents there, I was worn out.

Let me know what you think...

