Skip to content

Grandma’s Sparkle Christmas Tree

December 9, 2012

There are two new children that have come into my life.   They are nine-year-old twins (No10 and No11), and they are adorable.

I just finished a small project for No10 and thought I’d share it with you.  She likes things ‘sparkly” so I put together this special Christmas tree collage from her late grandmother’s collection of costume jewelry.  I thought it might be one special way for her to remember her Grandma.

I hope she likes it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Grandma’s Sparkle Christmas Tree

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2012 5:40 am

    Oh… just a bit! This is beautiful. What a thoughtful and stunning idea 🙂

  2. Betsy Cushman permalink
    December 9, 2012 7:52 am

    This is a gem! Get it? Really, the tree is so special and it would have thrilled me at age 9, too. What a thoughtful and perfect present! Thanks for sharing!

    • December 9, 2012 8:06 am

      Yup, I got it. 😉 Hey, I need an idea for her twin brother…?

  3. Snoring Dog Studio permalink
    December 9, 2012 9:53 am

    Love it! It’s what the holidays should be – sparkly! And considering how easy it is to pick up inexpensive baubles at thrift shops, it’s certainly within reach to make. Thank you for the idea!

    • December 9, 2012 10:20 am

      Glad you like it. I first saw it in a hallway at a local church and just loved it. 🙂

  4. December 9, 2012 10:33 am

    LOVE this! My Grandma had a thing for sparkly jewelry, too, and she’s who I got my jewelry desires from — she had many beautiful pins. I only wish I knew where they all went — I have a few and wear them with pride!

    What a thoughtful gift you’ve made 🙂

    MJ

    • December 9, 2012 10:55 am

      Thank you so much, MJ. Now I need to start looking through the collection that I’ve had passed on down to me. 😉

  5. December 10, 2012 9:23 am

    Love it!!! Enjoy your grandchildren…how nice!!

  6. December 28, 2012 7:58 am

    I love your sparkly tree, and I know my granddaughter would be over the moon if she received it for a remembrance gift. What a great idea.

    • December 28, 2012 11:17 am

      Glad you like it. I first saw it at a local church, so I thought I’d try it. I think that it’s something that’s been done for years.

  7. January 3, 2013 11:51 am

    Very beautiful, JSD. How big is it? And is it in a frame of some kind?

    • January 3, 2013 2:07 pm

      Thanks. I put it in a 16″ x 20″ shadow-box-type frame with a padded velvet background to attach the broaches and pins to. Since I took the picture I’ve changed it a little bit and also added tiny photographs to the backs of the circle pins (like little picture frames). Her grandfather also liked it quite a bit, too.

  8. January 21, 2013 10:49 pm

    What a wonderful idea! She will treasure it. I think someone’s jewelry carries a certain energy with it, a little of the person who wore it.

    • January 22, 2013 9:00 am

      That’s a great way to look at it…Thanks! 🙂

  9. February 28, 2013 6:01 pm

    What a beautiful and very thoughtful idea! I also agree with K.A. above-its such a nice way to think about it.

  10. May 23, 2013 1:45 pm

    That is one of the most beautiful thing I have ever seen.

    • May 23, 2013 2:26 pm

      Thank you. I’ve made a change by adding photographs of the grandparents as well as the two grandchildren, all framed by circle pins. She loves it!

Let me know what you think...

