Skip to content

View from Hannah’s hill

May 1, 2013

Okay, so I’ve been away for a while trying to kick-start some creativity from within me. Unfortunately, it has not been as successful as I would like.  In my whole life I have only done two (oil) paintings, and those were decades ago.  One was a portrait and actually turned out quite successfully.  The other was a fairly good knock-off of a photograph, which is a no-no because it wasn’t my photograph.  That went to the curb and was immediately picked-up by a dumpster diver.

I recently attempted to do something using acrylics.  I chose acrylics because it’s an easy clean-up.  This piece is to cover a fuse box on the wall of a basement office, so I chose a topic giving the sense of looking out of a window.

As I look at it, I see lots of places that need improvement which I won’t list here.  He loves it because it’s was done by me and for him.  I would like some feedback from others, too.  Please let me know where you think I could have done better.

View from Hannah's hill   ©2013 JSD

View from Hannah’s hill ©2013 JSD

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2013 6:40 pm

    I couldn’t have painted that in a thousand years. Someone with painting knowledge and skill might be able to give you some suggestions, but I’d be useless. I think it’s amazingly good. Really.

    • May 1, 2013 9:39 pm

      Thanks so much for the feedback. That’s kind of you. 🙂

  2. May 1, 2013 9:50 pm

    I’m with Charles. I am always impressed by anyone who can paint a picture. I think it’s lovely.

  3. May 2, 2013 6:35 am

    It is absolutely beautiful and I’d be thrilled to hang it anywhere in my house. 🙂

  4. May 2, 2013 7:50 am

    I love it! I clicked on the image to see it bigger and sighed thinking, cool cover for a fuse box 😉 MJ

    • May 2, 2013 8:26 am

      Thanks, MJ. I think I need to get started on something else now. 🙂

  5. May 2, 2013 9:37 am

    It seems almost a shame to have it only covering a fuse box. Absolutely lovely.

    • May 2, 2013 12:19 pm

      Thanks, Margo. It’s temporary but does the trick.

  6. Betsy Cushman permalink
    May 2, 2013 11:52 am

    Absolutely beautiful! I love the perspective which pulls me right out the window into a lovely world and asks me to dream a little.

    • May 2, 2013 12:20 pm

      Wow, I hadn’t been able to put it into words like that, but it’s exactly how I felt. And it was a lovely spot for dreaming. Thanks, Betsy!

  7. May 6, 2013 12:36 pm

    I love your painting and also the intention to bring the outside into your basement office! I think your painting is a Success! Acrylics are easier to use but I miss oils.

    • May 6, 2013 5:18 pm

      Thank you so much for your feedback. There’s so much I’ve got to learn, but I’m looking forward to experimenting with everything. I must have ADD ‘cuz now I’m working on an oil pastel. 🙂

  8. May 6, 2013 6:56 pm

    This is a lovely painting. I like it very much!

  9. May 7, 2013 6:50 am

    You definitely have talent. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

    • May 7, 2013 10:01 am

      Thank you! I am getting more and more motivated. 🙂

Let me know what you think...

