Skip to content

Winter Has Arrived…

December 27, 2013

I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas!

Winter is not my favorite season.  My fingers and toes were frostbit when I was a teenager, so I don’t like the cold.  I’m too old and decrepit to start ice skating again…it was my favorite winter sport as a child.  I don’t have a garage and dislike clearing the ice and snow off my car if I want to go any place.

But I like the seasonal changes that take place where I live.  And new-fallen snow is really, really beautiful.  And I now have my first goose-down coat.  Aaaah, life is good.

Yesterday as I went out into the new snow…in my new very warm jacket…this is what I encountered.

2013-12-26-2 Springbank Park on Boxing Day

I now think winter just might be my favorite season…for now.


21 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2013 1:04 pm

    Beautiful photos, and I live in a beautiful part of New England but winter is not my favorite time of the year. We’ve had 2′ of snow already and it will be months before I see the ground again. Oh well, back to the sewing machine.🙂

    • December 27, 2013 5:54 pm

      I’m ready to drag out my sewing machine, too! 🙂

  2. Anonymous permalink
    December 27, 2013 5:07 pm

    love this

  3. December 27, 2013 5:15 pm

    its beautiful!! thanks for sharing.

  4. December 28, 2013 11:39 am

    Just gorgeous — and peaceful🙂

    • December 28, 2013 2:25 pm

      It really was peaceful…and so quiet, too.

  5. December 28, 2013 11:43 am

    Beautiful photo! I miss the snow and beauty. A few days of white would be nice.

    • December 28, 2013 2:26 pm

      It is pretty, isn’t it? A few days of white is fine…it’s the long, drawn-out, very cold, powerless periods that wear us all down. 😉

  6. Betsy Cushman permalink
    December 28, 2013 1:40 pm

    Beautiful. Ah the difference a new winter coat can make! Your whole outlook can change.

  7. December 29, 2013 5:34 pm

    Lovely – especially with the falling snow on your blog.🙂

    • January 2, 2014 12:17 pm

      Thanks! Actually, I couldn’t figure out where that came from…then I started checking the dashboard and all the places where we can make changes. By the looks of the weather here in Michigan, I think we’ll need that falling snow well into March.

  8. January 23, 2014 9:41 am

    Yep–winter is hard—-but it is Beautiful—-that is the one good thing about it. & then there are those moments when you are really charmed, like when you see the actual shapes of snowflakes on your dark coat or glove. I always take a moment from shoveling & get a magnifying glass to really enjoy those fleeting crystalline structures.

    • January 23, 2014 10:44 am

      I like the new-fallen snow without foot prints on it, not even those of the local squirrels or the neighbor’s cat. Just absolutely pure.

  9. February 14, 2014 8:44 am

    Snow is beautiful and much appreciated around Christmas. We’re getting ours now.

  10. December 8, 2015 11:33 pm

    Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when opening
    in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!

    • December 9, 2015 8:46 am

      Thanks for the input…both ways. 🙂
      I’m not sure what to do about the compatibility…I just have it set up through WordPress, but will look into it.

Let me know what you think...

