Skip to content

Missing “Mostly Bright Ideas”

October 31, 2014

I first hooked up with WordPress when I decided to set up a blog to share family history with my siblings, cousins and their children and other distant relatives. It was information, stories, and pictures that I had gathered over the years listening to my father and his sisters talk about the family and as well as information I had gathered doing genealogical research. I liked doing it, they liked reading it, and it was a success for all of us.

While I was writing that blog, I also enjoyed reading many other blogs and started finding my favorites.  Here are just a few of my favorites:  
EmjayAndThem’s Blog (http://emjayandthem.com/)
Wings of Wonder (http://wingsofwonder.wordpress.com/)
The Other Side of 55 (http://theothersideof55.wordpress.com/)
Fifty Four and A Half (http://fiftyfourandahalf.com/), and  
Before Morning Breaks (http://barbfroman.wordpress.com/ )

And then there was Mostly Bright Ideas (http://mostlybrightideas.wordpress.com/) by Charles Gulotta. While reading his posts, we had an exchange of comments which left me with the idea of starting another blog. Something he said gave me the idea of using the name Undercover Surfer. So you can credit…or blame…him if you want for my blog’s title.

As most you know, writing a blog entails a lot of effort and a lot of time. Some bloggers are very consistent about posting their work, weekly or semi-weekly. I tried that, and I failed. But I’ve liked posting and will continue, though over the last three years my posts have been somewhat random. My last one was in April. Where have I been? Well, just trying to get my life and health in order.

I missed blogging and have recently been trying to catch up on reading all your wonderful posts. When I went to Mostly Bright Ideas, I started reading Charles’ oldest posts first, and enjoyed them as always. Then I came to his post dated October 7, 2014, and went into shock!

He was telling all of us “Good bye”. Can you believe that? “Good Bye” Just like that! I felt like my little brother was leaving, never to be seen or heard from again. I totally understand why it was “Good bye”. But he was the one who encouraged me to get into blogging. And he was a sounding board for me when I was trying to get through some red tape with Canadian Immigration. I’ve never had a chance to give him the latest of that.   What a bummer!

So, Charles, where-ever you are, I wish you much success and hope life is going great for you. But, please, please, please stop by once-in-a-while and let us all know how you are doing.

You will be missed!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2014 8:50 pm

    Charles’s blog was one of the first I followed, and one of my favourites. I looked forward to reading his work each week, and already miss it. I suppose, unfortunately, ‘all good things must come to an end.’ Sigh!

    • October 31, 2014 9:05 pm

      Well said. I just hope he knows what an inspiration he was to everyone.

  2. October 31, 2014 10:39 pm

    Charles’ blog was/is one of the best. Every word seemed to be pulled out of my head, my heart or my past. His memoir, The Long Hall, is heart wrenching and memorable. I miss Charles already.

    • November 1, 2014 9:57 am

      I have one of his other books. I think The Long Hall will have to be another.

  3. November 1, 2014 11:56 am

    I was sorry to see him go, too. Thank you for your kind words about my blog. I love this community and how supportive everyone is 🙂 MJ

  4. November 6, 2014 3:11 pm

    I felt the same way about Charles’ announcement. It was like losing a friend. I hope he comes around from time to time. Blogging is time consuming and we often get so wrapped up in our lives it is hard to take a moment to form a post, but I find occasionally posting works rather well. See, we’re all still here for you!

    • November 6, 2014 3:11 pm

      P.S. I have two blogs as well. Writingfeemail is my other site and probably the one you are more familiar with.

      • November 6, 2014 3:46 pm

        I was looking at both of them today…very enjoyable. And congratulations!

Let me know what you think...

