Skip to content

More Sketches…

May 10, 2016

So, more practice and I still made this one look much older than her 12-year-old self.  I guess this is what she’ll look like when she’s an adult…say in her 20s or 30s?

"Kelly?" graphite on Bristol board (8" x 10")

“No5?” graphite on Bristol board (8″ x 10″)

But as I looked at it, I realized that her eyes are off, so I need to practice more on eyes. These are some of my practices…one is Justin Trudeau.  Can you spot him?

Practice sketches (graphite on paper)

Practice sketches (graphite on paper)

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 10, 2016 3:18 pm

    Love it…

  2. May 10, 2016 3:41 pm

    British painter Walter Sickert said that “a portrait is a likeness of someone with something not quite right about the mouth” Keep practicing – you’ll get there.

    • May 10, 2016 7:35 pm

      Thanks! 🙂 I like the quote…will have to keep it in mind.

  3. May 11, 2016 8:40 am

    looks great! But I don’t know which is Justin’s. Perhaps if you’d inserted Bieber’s in there …

    • May 11, 2016 8:45 am

      Ha! I’ll have to try the Bieb’s. Justin T’s is the upper right one.

  4. May 11, 2016 2:24 pm

    Fabulous portrait drawing!

  5. May 12, 2016 12:49 am

    I think this is amazing. How do you transfer from paper to your blog. Do you simply use your phone camera?
    If so the pics are vey clear. Nice job.

    • May 12, 2016 8:07 am

      Hi, Barb…I’m still one of those who uses a dumb-phone as a cell phone and a Canon Power Shot digital camera. So-o, I simply take a photo of the art work then download to my computer just like you would any other photo. I’m sure there’s a more practical way to do it, but this is what works for me.

Let me know what you think...