Skip to content

Grandchildren

August 31, 2011

Grandchildren…they are the best thing ever invented.  I am very, very fortunate to have nine of them…a wide assortment of ages (22 years old down to two months)…a mixture of siblings and cousins…and very diverse personalities. 

Out of respect for their privacy, I will not mention their names nor post any pictures.  I will simply call them No1, No2, and so-on down to our newest little addition, No9.  And you will just have to take my word that they are absolutely the smartest and best looking grandchildren out there. 

Now, I know that those of you with children or grandchildren of your own feel the same way about your own little darlings, but in my own UndercoverSurfer-land where I live, my grandchildren top all others…no doubt about it!

That phrase (…-land) is what No3 and No4 use when they talk about their dreams of what they’d like to do…or to have…or to play…or plan for the future.  When No3 was about eight-years-old, she told me that her No3-land dream was to have a horse ranch with a restaurant.  I thought it was a somewhat odd combination until she explained it was because she loves horses, likes to cook and wants to have a restaurant.  That way she could have both.  Very clever!  I told you they’re smart.

She’s a little older now, and in her current No3-land, she is already learning to cook and is fortunate to begin riding lessons soon with her sister, No4.

Oh, do I envy them that they have such a pleasant way to look on life and to so sweetly think about their future. 

But wait…it just occurred to me.  Why can’t I have my own little dreams in my own UndercoverSurfer-land? 

In my UndercoverSurfer-land, I will remain healthy and agile, my brain will not ferment nor turn to mush, I will be skilled and proficient in all my artistic interests, I will dance as if nobody is watching me…and so much more. 

And, more important, there will be peace in the world, nobody will go hungry, and the economy will quit tanking. 

Geez…I can dream, can’t I?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy Cushman permalink
    September 1, 2011 8:15 am

    Listening to your grandchildren’s dreams reminds me of my own childhood ones — I was all about horses, too, but definitely not the restaurant part. Your writing takes me away from the serious woes of the world as it is to the joyful possibilities of our dreams.

    And reminds me to take time to listen to each grandchild’s dreams and encourage them to keep dreaming, always, especially as they leave home to pursue them.

    • September 1, 2011 8:47 am

      Yup, that’s what grandparents are good for, isn’t it? It provides the two-way unconditional love between the two generations.

Trackbacks

  1. No3 and Me « Undercover Surfer

Let me know what you think...